History 2017-01-10T22:45:26+00:00

Asamblea GeneralAt the end of World War II Spain, exhausted politically and economically, ends up isolated by the Allies who close the entrance to the largest world organization of countries, having to wait until December 14, 1955, in the heat of the cold war, to form Part of the United Nations. Spain thus becomes member number 65.

In September 2012, the President of the Government, Mariano Rajoy, supported the candidacy of our country to the Security Council by expressing before the General Assembly the firm commitment of Spain to this institution and its decision to play an active role in the search for joint solutions To common problems. He stated that “Spain’s will is to work on the Council in an open, constructive and committed spirit with international peace and security, with the promotion and defense of human rights and the search for sustainable development for all.”

Its recognition in the international sphere has allowed Spain to become the fifth non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council from 1 January 2015 to 31 December 2016.

Spain remains the sixth global contributor to the United Nations system – including mandatory and voluntary contributions – and the ninth contributor to the organization’s regular budget.

More than 120,000 Spanish troops have served under the UN mandate as blue helmets in peacekeeping operations in recent years.

Currently, about 1,400 Spaniards work at the United Nations.

List of Ambassadors Permanent Representatives of Spain to the United Nations

José Félix de Lequerica y Erquiza
José Félix de Lequerica y Erquiza(1956-1963)
Manuel Aznar Zubigaray
Manuel Aznar Zubigaray(1964-1967)
Jaime de Piniés y Rubio
Jaime de Piniés y Rubio(1968-1972/1973-1985)
Jaime Alba Delibes
Jaime Alba Delibes(1972-1973)
Fernando Morán López
Fernando Morán López(1986-1987)
Francisco Villar Ortíz de Urbina
Francisco Villar Ortíz de Urbina (1987-1991)
Juan Antonio Yáñez-Barnuevo
Juan Antonio Yáñez-Barnuevo(1991-1996/2004-2010)
Carlos Westendorp y Cabeza
Carlos Westendorp y Cabeza (1996-1997)
Inocencio Félix Arias Llamas
Inocencio Félix Arias Llamas(1997-2004)
Juan Pablo de Laiglesia y González de Peredo
Juan Pablo de Laiglesia y González de Peredo(2010-2012)
Fernando Arias González
Fernando Arias González(2012-2013)